Free Artsakh, as the locals call the country, or the Nagorno-Karabakh Republic, is the second Armenian state. This relatively new but fast-growing tourist route is perhaps what many travelers and travel bloggers are looking for so far. However, like the Republic of Armenia, Artsakh offers a huge number of adventures, cultural and historical routes. This is truly a treasure trove of unique art and architecture, the birthplace of medieval churches, monasteries and Armenian khachkars, and this is not counting the unspoilt beauty of picturesque landscapes and attractive mountains. Intrigued? Here are 10 facts you should know when visiting Nagorno-Karabakh.

1. legend has It that the name “Artsakh “comes from” Ar “(Aran) and” tsakh “(tree, garden), which means” gardens of Aran Sisakian”, who was the first (leader) of North-Eastern Armenia. Historically, the Artsakh region (which occupies most of the Nagorno-Karabakh Republic) was the 10th province of the Armenian Kingdom from 189 BC to 387 ad, after which it was attacked and conquered from outside. In may 1994, the people of Artsakh regained their independence after a severe war with Azerbaijan. Today, the Nagorno-Karabakh Republic is a de facto independent but unrecognized country.

2. Stepanakert is the capital and largest city of the NKR. Incredibly clean, green and cozy city is a cultural and economic hub of the Republic. It is also home to government buildings and the Parliament, as well as a large number of entertainment venues, parks and restaurants.

3. Stepanakert is also home to the main symbol of Artsakh – the monument “We are our mountains”, also known among Armenians as “Tatik – papik” (“grandmother and grandfather”). The monument depicts an elderly man and woman made of tuff in traditional clothes. The monument symbolizes the entire people of Artsakh on the top of a small hill and “points” to the stunning panorama of the city.

4. Shushi, the second largest city in Artsakh, has a rich but difficult history. A great cultural center of the region, the city still retains its unique charm, despite the destruction caused by the war. Shushi is home to many little-known tourist attractions, such as the Unot gorge, the 19 th-century kazanchetsots Church, the Kanach Zham (“Green Church”) Church, and the Shushi Tank memorial.

5.the Azokh cave, another little-explored place for tourists, is also located in Artsakh. Most notably, The 6-level azoh cave complex is considered one of the most ancient places in Eurasia where proto-humans lived.

6. as already mentioned, you can find unsurpassed elements of medieval Armenian architecture in Artsakh, and the Gandzasar Monastery is one of these gems. Beautifully located in the middle of the forest mountains, the 13th-century monastery complex preserves the relics of Saint John the Baptist and his father Saint Zacharias.

7. in addition to the medieval heritage, Artsakh has a lot to offer to history lovers, especially in terms of Hellenistic culture. The history of Tigranakert, one of the cities on the Armenian plateau named after the Armenian king Tigran the Great, begins in the 1st century BC.! Nowadays, you can find out about this once thriving city and excavated artifacts in the state archaeological Museum of Tigranakert, located inside the castle walls.

8. the Artsakh cuisine is part of the Armenian cuisine, but it is better known for its famous “zhengyalov hac” (bread flatbread with herbs). You can try this mix of more than 20 types of greens wrapped in thin bread in almost all restaurants, cafes, and bistros of Artsakh and Armenia. For your information, the residents of Artsakh are also masters of wine-making and mulberry vodka – two drinks that are very popular in Artsakh.ingelow khats

9. Good news for hikers: like Armenia, Karabakh is also becoming a popular destination for Hiking. The mountainous landscape, dense forests and fast-flowing rivers make Artsakh a great place for long walks, where you can discover and admire unsurpassed trails of pristine nature.

10. perhaps it is because of all of the above (as well as many other things that we will write about in future articles) that Artsakh was included in the list of the best places for adventures suggested by The Guardian.

The author of the Guardian article notes that travel to Artsakh is not for the faint-hearted due to “border skirmishes and ongoing disputes over political control”. However, despite the difficult past and present, the land of Artsakh is imbued with an aura and spirit of freedom, pride and tranquility that you will definitely feel during your adventures in Nagorno-Karabakh.

Bonus: it will be easy, fun and easy to communicate with the residents of Artsakh. They are very hospitable and helpful people, as shown in the video: they will show you everything and tell you if you need their help

Свободный Арцах, как называют страну местные жители, или Нагорно-Карабахская Республика, является вторым армянским государством. Этот относительно новый, но быстро развивающееся туристический маршрут, возможно, пока что является terra incognita для многих путешественников и блогеров- путешественников. Тем не менее, как и Республика Армения, Арцах предлагает огромное число приключений, культурных и исторических маршрутов. Это действительно сокровищница уникального искусства и архитектуры, родина средневековых церквей, монастырей и армянских хачкаров, и это не считая нетронутой красоты живописных ландшафтов и притягательных гор. Заинтригованы? Мы представляем вам 10 фактов, о которых вам следует знать при посещении Нагорного Карабаха.

1. Легенда гласит, что название “Арцах” исходит от “Ар” (Аран) и “цах” (дерево, сад), что означает “сады Арана Сисакяна”, который был первым нахараром (лидером) северо-восточной Армении. Исторически, регион Арцах (занимающий большую часть Нагорно-Карабахской Республики) был 10-й провинцией Армянского Королевства с 189 г. до н.э. до 387 г. н.э., после чего подвергся нападению и завоеванию извне. В мае 1994 года народ Арцаха восстановил свою независимость после тяжелейшей войны с Азербайджаном. Сегодня, Нагорно-Карабахская Республика является де-факто независимой, но непризнанной страной.armenia-and-artsakh-map

2. Степанакерт – столица и самый большой город НКР. Неправдоподобно чистый, зеленый и уютный город является культурным и экономическим узлом республики. Здесь же расположены правительственные здания и парламент, а также большое число развлекательных мест, парков и ресторанов.Stepanakert from the air

3. В Степанакерте также расположен главный символ Арцаха – монумент “Мы – наши горы”, известный также среди армян как “Татик-папик” (“бабушка и дедушка”). Памятник изображает сделанных из туфа пожилых мужчину и женщину в традиционных одеждах. Монумент символизирует весь народ Арцаха на вершине небольшого холма и “указывает” на потрясающую панораму города.We-and-Our-Mountains-in-Stepanakert,-Karabakh

4. Шуши, второй самый большой город Арцаха, имеет богатую, но тяжелую историю. Большой культурный центр региона, город до сих пор сохранил свой неповторимый шарм, несмотря на разрушения, вызванные войной. Шуши является родиной множества малоизведанных туристических достопримечательностей, таких как ущелье Унот, церковь 19-века Газанчецоц, Церковь Канач Жам (“Зеленая церковь”), и мемориал Танк Шуши.Ghazanchetsots cathedral at Shushi, Artsakh, Karabakh

5. В Арцахе также расположена Азохская пещера, другое малоисследованное место для посещения туристами. Самое примечательное, что 6-уровневый пещерный комплекс Азох считается одним из наиболее древних мест в Евразии, где жили протолюди.Azokh Cave at Artsakh, Karabakh

6. Как уже упоминалось, в Арцахе можно обнаружить непревзойденные элементы средневековой армянской архитектуры и Монастырь Гандзасар является одной из этих жемчужин. Красиво расположившись в середине лесных гор, монастырский комплекс 13 века хранит мощи святого Иоанна Крестителя и его отца Святого Захария.Gandzasar-monastery-in-Nagorno-Karabakh,-Artsakh

7. Помимо средневекового наследия, Арцах может многое предложить любителям истории, особенно по части эллинистической культуры. История Тигранакерта, одного из городов на армянском плато, названных по имени армянского царя Тиграна Великого, начинается в 1 веке до н.э.! В наши дни, вы можете узнать об этом некогда процветавшем городе и раскопанных артефактах в Государственном археологическом музее Тигранакерта, расположенном внутри стен замка.Tigranakert-city,-Artsakh,-Karabakh

8. Арцахская кухня является частью армянской кухни, но она больше известна своим знаменитым “женгялов ац” (хлебная лепешка с зеленью). Вы можете попробовать этот завернутый в тонком хлебе микс из более 20 типов зелени практически во всех ресторанах, кафе, и бистро Арцаха и Армении. К вашему сведению, жители Арцаха также мастера по виноделению и тутовой водке – двум напиткам, которые очень популярны в Арцахе.zhengyalov-hats-baking-process

9. Хорошая новость для любителей пеших прогулок: как и Армения, Карабах также становится популярным местом для пешего туризма. Горный ландшафт, густые леса и быстротекущие реки делают Арцах прекрасным местом для длительных пеших прогулок, где можно обнаружить и восхититься непревзойденными тропами девственной природы.Hiking-in-Nagorno-Karabakh

10. Может быть, именно из-за всего вышеотмеченного (а также многого другого, о чем мы еще напишем в будущих статьях), Арцах был включен в список лучших мест для приключений, предложенных The Guardian.

Автор статьи The Guardian отмечает, что путешествие в Арцах не для малодушных из-за “пограничных стычек и продолжающихся споров относительно политического контроля”. Тем не менее, несмотря на сложное прошлое и настоящее, земля Арцаха проникнута аурой и духом свободы, гордости и спокойствия, которое вы обязательно почувсвуете во время ваших приключений в Нагорном Карабахе.

Бонус: Вам будет легко, весело и просто в общении с жителями Арцаха. Они очень гостеприимные и отзывчивые люди, как это показано на видео: они вам все покажут и расскажут, если понадобится их помощь

Достопримечательности